Core Competency Education

SGMP has identified 9 (nine) categories of core competencies for government meeting planners which focus the content of SGMP professional development both at national and chapter events, as well as in-person and online education. All nine categories are integral to the government meeting professional. Sessions approved for contact hours via SGMP have been thoroughly vetted by our Education Director as satisfying one or more area of core competency education. Learn more about how these core competencies align with EIC professional development domains.

Education & Programming >

Ethics >

Facilities & Services >

Finance & Contract Management >

Logistics >

Personal & Professional Development >

Protocol >

Technology >

Travel >

Beginning in Fall 2024, SGMP will also offer 3 (three) new Core Competency Domains to ensure all SGMP members and guests have access to current information and professional development opportunities.

Business Management

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion >

Leadership >